Welcome Fall

Selvästi on jo syksyn merkit ilmassa. Tuulee viileästi ja luonnon värimaailma on muuttumassa.

It feels like fall already. The wind is quite chilly these days and nature’s colors are changing.

Shalom Cardigan

Novitan värjäystiimi osui tänä syksynä nappiin muutamien värien kanssa. Kun näin Nastin ihanan keltaisen villiksen, oli pakko lähteä melkein siltä istumalta hakemaan upean keltaista Isoveikkaa. Juuri minunväriseni ihana syvä keltainen!

The local yarn brand, Novita, hit the spot this fall with some colors. When I saw Nasti’s lovely yellow cardi, I had to go and buy some of that lovely, deep yellow. That color basically has my name written all over it!

Shalom Cardigan

Ihastuin Shalom Cardiganin kaarrokkeeseen Ravelryssä ja Isoveikka sopikin siihen mainiosti. Neuletiheys ei ihan täsmännyt, mutta Isoveikka ainakin minun käsialallani venyy aika tavalla pingotuksessa ja niin se teki tässäkin. Rinnanympärykseni on kymmenisen senttiä ohjetta isompi, joten varmuudeksi lisäsin neljä silmukkaa etureunuksiin, kaksi kummallekin puolelle. Ennen pingotusta neule oli aika kittana, mutta venyi pingotuksessa juuri sopivaksi.

When I saw the Shalom Cardigan in Ravelry, I instantly knew that I had to have that pretty yoke. The yarn was a good match. My gauge was a bit off, but I knew that this yarn would stretch when blocked. My bust is 4″ larger than specified in the pattern, and I added 4 stitches to the garter borders, two on each side. The cardigan was kind of skimpy before blocking, but, as I was expecting, perfect size after blocking.

Shalom Cardigan

Isoveikkahan on vähän karkeaa, joten ennen pingotusta heitin sen lanoliinikylpyyn. Suosittelen!

The yarn is not the softest, so I soaked the cardigan in a lanolin bath before blocking. Highly recommended!

Shalom Cardigan

Malli: Shalom Cardigan (pdf) (Ravelry)
Lanka: Novita Isoveli (75 % villa, 25 % polyamidi), 317 g
Puikot: 5 mm

Pattern: Shalom Cardigan (pdf) (Ravelry)
Yarn: Novita Isoveli (75 % wool, 25 % nylon), 317 g
Needles: 5 mm / US#8

26 thoughts on “Welcome Fall

  1. Hello. I just linked over from Hege’s blog. Your knitting is amazing! I’m making the clapotis right now and it’s very itchy so I’m going to take your advice about the lanolin bath. Love the cardigan! Have a great week, Heidi

  2. Todella ihana neule!
    Väri sopii mainiosta sinulle, minä en taida omistaa mitään keltaista vaatetta…
    Pitäisi käyttää rohkeammin värejä… 🙂

  3. Se on iik ihana! Ja tuo väri on syötävä! Kyllä syksy on ihan mahtava vuodenaika, minä en ihan kauheasti keväästä välitä, talvi on hyvä skimbauksen ja hiihdon kannalta, mutta syksy! Silloin tekee mieli Neuloa! ;D

    Ja arvaat kai, että olen kyllä miettinyt tuota mallia, mutta jono ompi pitkä…

  4. Mä olin taas värien suhteen että ‘blaah’, onneksi meitä on moneksi. Sulle tuo keltainen sopii kyllä todella hienosti, kerrassaan kaunis neule. Täytyypä muistaa tuo lanoliinikylpyvinkki.

  5. You said the “F” word……fall that is.

    I know it’s coming, it’s inevitable. I just wish I could have milked a little more out of my summer. I say that every year.

    The only good part about the cooler weather is pulling the woolies out and wearing them. I bought the yarn to make this very cardi the other day! Actually I bought two colors of yarn because I couldn’t make up my mind. LOL.

    Yours is lovely as always!

  6. That is Perfect on you! That will be a great layering piece when the weather starts to get chilly. Where has the summer gone? It was here one minute but it seems to be disappearing so quickly.

Leave a comment